LSU and Clemson Playoff Game

Amanda palazzolo, Author and Writer

LSU winning the national championship, 42-25 on Monday night against Clemson. LSU now completing one of their most impressive seasons in college football history. The win for LSU was a fitting finale for Heisman Trophy winner Joe Burrow, who finished one of the greatest individual seasons of all time. This gave LSU its first national championship since 2007. Burrow then finish the game with 463 yards on 31 of 49 passing, totaling six touchdowns (five passes) with no turn overs. He set new national title game records for passing yards and touchdowns it even broke Deshaun Watson’s record for total yards in the championship game with broke the NCAA single- season record for touchdown passes in the process. This win for LSU is such an achievement for all the coach staff and offensive coordinator Steve Ensminger and passing game coordinator Joe Brady and especially for Ed Orgeron. By the ending of the second quarter Burrow finally started to heat up and get going to win the national championship, there was no stopping him, he has the hottest hand in college football. Joe Burrow then linked up with the wide receiver Ja’Marr Chase for 147 yards in the first half and then with Biletnikoff in the rest of the game with nine catches for 221 yards and 2 touchdowns; which is a new CFP National Championship record for receiving yards. 

But Clemson wasn’t playing bad themselves, Clemson’s defense limited the scoring opportunities and had a 17-7 lead in the second quarter. Lawrence’s 25-0 record as a starter is now 25-1 after that game which saw him complete just 18 of 37 passes for 234 yards with no touchdowns. Lawrence then made a few plays that were good and scored them touchdowns. But he failed to keep the vibe going with WRs Tee Higgins and Justyn Ross as he tried to match Burrow’s production.